Libertad

Last fall, I happened upon a new mural created by Yollocalli Arts Reach.  I posted about it and received an email from the staff — with a map to more of their work!

The first piece I’ve checked out is Libertad in Barrett Park at Cermak and Damen in Pilsen.  The mural covers the retaining wall that runs along the playground.  It features a variety of famous faces including Frida Kahlo, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Rosa Parks.

As with the earlier mural I’d seen, Jesus “Chucho” Rodriguez led youth in creating this work.  It was part of a mural making class that also included an exploration of the history and tradition of mural making.

I love the mix of people that they youth chose to include.

I recognize Ghandi, Malcolm X and Emiliano Zapata.  Can anyone help me with the other guy?

Leave a Reply

