Back to CU

Recently, a friend asked me about my first (accidental) adventure in mural hunting in Mexico City.  I was visiting Ciudad Universitaria (CU), the enormous main campus of Universidad Nacional Autónomo de México in Mexico City.  CU was built in the early 1950s as a collaborative project among more than 60 architects, engineers and artists.  I was there in 2006, and a year later CU was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in recognition of its unique blend of urbanism, modern architecutre, and traditional cultural imagery.

The murals grabbed me because they are incorporated throughout the campus.  The most well-known example is the Central Library (below, right) which is wrapped in a mural by Juan O’Gorman — reportedly the largest mural in the world.

The medical school also features a massive mural, this one by Francisco Eppens.

I have CU on my list of places to visit again, especially now that I am better at photographing and documenting the murals I see.  I wish I remembered who created this work and what building this is.

Anybody know?

3 responses to “Back to CU

  1. I looked about the mural your said “remembered who created this”José Chávez Morado , 1909 – 2002, José Chávez Morado born on Silao, Guanajuato, Mexico.
    The website refers also to the ones of “CU” (1952), about the Communication Berau “Secretaría de Comunicaciones” (1954) and one “fresco” on “Alhondiga de Granaditas” an historical place on Guanajuato.

Leave a Reply

