Hope

Several weeks ago, I took my friend V mural hunting on the south side of Chicago.  On the way home, we took a swing through Pilsen so I could show her some of my favorite work.  I was surprised and excited to find this new mural at 19th and Loomis:

The building is home to San Jose Obrero Mission, a nonprofit that provides shelter and employment services to the Latino community.  The mural, “Wall of Hope”, was painted by artists from Yollocalli Arts Reach, the youth initiative of the National Museum of Mexican Art in Pilsen.  Muralist Jesús “Chucho” Rodriguez led the project.

I don’t know much about Yollocalli except that they create opportunities for youth to partner with practicing artists in order to express their individual vision and to build their skills as artists.  I love that they also partnered with a community service agency and created this piece that beautifies the shelter and draws attention to the mission’s work.

One response to “Hope

  1. I received a wonderful email from Vanessa at Yollocalli Arts Reach with more information about their mural work. Yollocalli has been making murals since 2005, and they now have more than 12 around Chicagoland. She sent me a map, so stay tuned for more of their incredible work!

Leave a Reply

